Starters · Starters/Sides

My cauliflower bread experience

So one of the main things I miss while doing Slimming World is bread.
Not because I can’t have it because I regularly have whole meal bread but not the lovely doughy tiger bread that I’d normally buy and slather in butter.
So when I saw a recipe on Pinterest for cauliflower bread and other people blogging about it I thought I would give it a go!
My verdict is mixed to be honest, it’s not really a bread but its a really good low syn snack full of super free cauliflower and an easy way to get my hex A in. But will I be using it to make my ham sandwiches? No!
Have you made it?
Let me know what you think

Ingredients
2 eggs
1 cauliflower head
120g cheese
1 clove of garlic -crushed
Pinch of salt, pepper and oregano

Method
Preheat the oven to 220

1. Grate the cauliflower until it looks like rice.
2. Microwave for 8 mins or until soft.
3. Grate the cheese, mix with the egg, garlic and seasonings
4. Mix with the cauliflower
5. Put on a baking tray sprayed with fry light and bake for 15 mins until cooked.
6. Remove from the oven slice into 4 portions and then return to the oven for 10 mins so its crisp on both sides.

If I make this again I would just use 1 egg and maybe add some mustard!

Before baking

20130121-224727.jpg

After baking

20130121-224852.jpg

One thought on “My cauliflower bread experience

  1. I’m glad I came across the recipe if only for finding out you can grate and then microwave cauliflower. I’m now wondering if I can apply that knowledge to save me time and effort somewhere down the line. I’m not lazy, honest… OK I am! I didn’t think it was comparable to bread in any way shape or form but I did like it in its own right. Next time I’m going to try the pizza base, I think that would work better for me. I think Smash as a pizza base was invented by the devil!

Leave a Reply

